Ok, I know…. it just doesn’t sound good. But I have gotten numerous requests for this recipe this year. People who try it just can’t quit thinking about it! It invades your dreams. You can’t go to the produce section without almost physically restraining yourself from filling your cart with grapes. It’s just that good, girls.

1 1/2 pound seedless green grapes (make sure they’re not mushy!)

1 8oz carton of good sour cream (don’t go buying that light crap)

1/2 cup of white sugar

1 tsp of good vanilla

1 block of good cream cheese (I don’t need to repeat what I said about the sour cream do I?)

A box of brown sugar…. I like the light

A mess of chopped pecans. Get alot.

Let the cream cheese come to room temperature. If your a/c is cranked, toss it on the back steps a while. Cream together with the white sugar, vanilla and sour cream. (Now I will personally toss in a handful of the brown sugar, too, just to make it rich… taste as you go to get the right amount). Fold this into the grapes that you have washed AND dried. (Dry is important). Some people half the grapes, whatever cranks your tractor. Layer the grape mixture with a thin layer of brown sugar and pecans. Make like a trifle. Top with generous amounts of brown sugar and pecans. And stand back so you don’t get trampled.

