I am not a breakfast person. Even as a kid, I skipped breakfast. It was so uninspiring. So blah. I couldn’t get worked up over a Carnation Instant Breakfast mix, ya know?

Now I’m a mom. I want healthy kids and I know they really need that morning meal. And to be honest, I need the energy from a meal to keep up with them! So, how do I do it? How do I provide plate up healthy and hearty food at a meal that is dominated by carbs and sweets?

Most breakfast items are either fattening, bready or sweet: pancakes, waffles, sausages, bacon (technically referred to as heaven on a plate in my house), muffins, croissants, jellies, jams, syrups, etc. Or it’s eggs. I hate eggs and I hate oatmeal so don’t even go there. Bleh!

I’m on a quest (thanks to Oprah) to turn my health around and my first step is to start eating breakfast. Here’s a list of breakfast foods that are good for you and just might taste good too!

There’s a few recipes to get us started. I’ll be reporting back with results on how easy they are to make, who gave it thumbs up and which kid spit it out half a second after it hit their tongue.

Happy breakfast!

