In my longing for fall to get here, I decided to make a Warm Apple Crisp. I was so excited to taste a bite right out of the oven with vanilla bean whipped cream. I have had a long and exhausting day but I managed to cut my 5 green apples perfectly and squeeze the juices of one lime over them. Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon…yummy. Well I am envisioning how wonderful it will taste and my mouth is just watering.

I jump up in sheer delight to the timer ding and run to the kitchen. Something smells kind of off… It does not bring me the wonderful fall smell I had remembered. HMMM… I take a bite and GASP! Oh no…this not good, this is not right… Have I lost my taste its out of sight! Has my sweet palet left me? My baking skills are gone. I look down at the counter and am surprised to see, cumin!!!! Shew… At least it was a sleepy mistake and not a lack of my sweet gift!

To make this wonderful treat that is warm and comforting correctly….

Preheat oven 345

In a casserole dish:

4-6 sliced green apples
juice of 1 lime
2 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 sticks cold butter
1 1/4 cups flour (I prefer Swans cake flour)
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup oats

Place apples in buttered casserole dish. Sprinkle with sugar and a few shakes of cinnamon. Squeeze the lime over the mix. In a seprate bowl combine the flour, brown sugar and oats. Cut in the butter until nice and chopped and blended will. Sprinkle the mixture over apples. Shake the dish a bit and add the loose portion remaining in the bowl on top of the apples. This is also nice w/ chopped pecans and raisins. Always remember to make sure to not mistake cumin for cinnamon!

Vanilla Bean Whipped Cream

1 pint heavy whipping cream
1 cup super fine sugar
1 vanilla bean

Mix the cream on medium for 3 min. Add sugar and mix on medium for 3-4 min. Fold in vanilla beans.

The trick to perfect whip cream is to use a metal bowl that has been chilling with the beaters in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours – the colder the better in this case, but not frosty.

