This, I must say, is a serious work in progress.

I used a basic recipe for 1-2-3-4 cake (you can find that almost anywhere). I substituted the milk with Bailey’s Irish Cream. While it had such wonderful flavor, they were kind of “fragrant, drunken cupcakes” and a tad on the dry side. The Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing certainly made up for the dryness. I will continue to work on this. In the meantime, any helpful tips for the dryness?

Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing

1 stick butter, softened
80z cream cheese
4oz chocolate, melted and cooled (I find the Nestle’s pre-melted semi sweet packets wonderful in a pinch.)
1 box confectioners sugar, sifted
2 Tbsp heavy cream

Blend butter and cream cheese in a bowl on medium speed, two min. Add melted chocolate, mix 3 min. Add confectioners sugar. I find it very easy on time to sift the sugar right into the bowl. Add cream to desired consistency.

sig-jena.jpg

 

