It’s rare that my family is all together on the weekends. This afternoon was one of those wonderful rare occassions… topped off with everyone asking. “So mom, what’s for lunch”. Craving a BLT, I ran to the refrigerator thinking this would be an easy out. I found that we had no bread and no lettuce. However, after 10 minutes of standing in my kitchen trying to figure out what leftovers I could use to accomadate 5 people, I had a light bulb moment. What came next made for a wonderful lunch with family.

Bacon Basil Tomato Quesadilla

1 slice really red tomato, quartered

1 slice cooked bacon (I prefer the thick microwave kind)

3 leaves fresh basil

Sharp shredded cheddar cheese

1 burrito-size flour tortilla

1 pat butter

 

Set burner to medium heat. Gather ingredients. Place butter in skillet and spread evenly. Lay flour tortilla flat in pan. Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top of tortilla, distibuting evenly. Sprinkle crumbled bacon on left side. Place tomato and basil on top of bacon, keeping everything on the left side. Fold the right side over to the left but sprinkle a bit more cheese before you fold. Cook on each side, flipping as you need until golden and crisp.

Cut in half with pizza cutter and then again making 4 slices.

Serves 1

sig-jena.jpg

