New Years is around the corner and it has my friends scrambling to find black eyed pea recipes. Here’s a delicious dip that is all the rage in my house. I take to our monthly Bunko games and there are never any leftovers! I don’t remember where I got this recipe, so if it’s yours, please let me know so I can credit you.

Ingredients:
3 cans blackeye peas, drained
1 med onion chopped
1 stick of butter
2 to 4 tsp chopped jalepeno peppers
2 to 4 Tblsp jalepeno pepper juice
2 jars Kraft Old English cheese

Cooking Instructions:
saute onion and butter
add peppers and juice
add peas
add cheese
simmer 20 minutes

Serving Suggestions:
serve warm w/ scoop style tortilla chips

When I make this dip, I use three jars of Old English Cheese. You will usually find OEC in the chip/dip section of the grocery store. Kraft is the only brand of it I can find.

Normally, I’ll do all my sautee work in a pan and turn the crock pot on high. Once the sautee is done, I add the black eyed peas and let them cook for about 3 minutes. Meanwhile, I put all the OEC in the crock pot and cover. Add the ingredients from the pan, stir a little and cover. Then walk away for at least half an hour. Come back to stir and reduce to low.

This is the easiest, cheapest and tastiest dip I’ve come across in a long, long time!

sig-sharon.jpg

