Well, I thought it would never arrive, yet here we are, June 1st!!! So without further ado…..

Month #1 pattern

Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s Basic Sock Recipe (Rav link, non-Rav link)

The great thing about the basic sock recipe is that it is a great introduction for socks if you are new, a great no-brainer sock if you are experienced, and completely adaptable to however long/short you want to make the cuff! I have started everyone out on this pattern who has never knit socks before and they have been instantly addicted. I can’t wait to see what all the different socks look like!

Year long patterns

Slippery Socks (Rav link, non-Rav link)

I love this sock pattern and have been dying to knit it. I am sure it will take me forever, so what an appropriate year long pattern! I included this particular pattern because some people might not really want knee high socks, so I felt like two options would be the way to go.

Winding Cable Knee Socks (Rav link, non-Rav link (PDF))

This sock pattern is done in Lorna’s Laces, and I am completely hooked on their yarn. I have a bunch of it in my stash, but oh woe is me, I do not have three skeins so that means oh darn, I will have to yarn shop. I am so heartbroken (HA!!!!!)

For the first month’s pattern, I will be doing a tutorial type of deal, so my first post will deal with casting on for all of the different types of knitting socks in the round. I am sure almost everyone has knit socks before, but its always nice to see a step by step, and hopefully it will encourage someone who is a die hard DPN knitter to try magic loop or two circs, etc.

Happy knitting everyone! Can’t wait to see progress pictures and hear from everyone as they start knitting! What yarn is everyone using? How long have you had it wound? Are you keeping them for yourself or are you giving them away to someone special?

Lets get knittin’!!

