Fruit!

My children are obsessed with graham crackers right now. It vexes me to no end that they won’t eat any other snacks (translation: healthy snacks) and insist on graham crackers. Yesterday as I spread peanut butter on a graham cracker for the umpteenth time, inspiration hit me!

When I was little, my mother made peanut butter and banana sandwiches for herself. I found the concoction to be quite odious and always turned my nose up to it. But in a desperate attempt to make my children’s snack a bit healthier, I channeled my mother and got to mashing!

1 cup peanut butter
1 very ripe banana

Mash together on a plate with a fork until the banana is pulverized. Mix together well.

I mixed up enough to last for several days and stuck it in the fridge. Because the banana is exposed to the air, the mix will darken but it’s okay to eat.

I was pretty proud of myself. My daughter has started refusing bananas lately and my son wouldn’t eat a piece of fruit even if Thomas the Tank Engine delivered it personally. Then I thought, “Why stop with a banana?” Why not try it on a few other fruits?

Once our stash of pb & banana is gone, I’m going to try it with some other fruit. But which fruit? My concern is that the real juicy fruits would turn the peanut butter into soup. I will probably start out with some freeze dried strawberries we have in the cupboard.

