pureeing avocado in my food mill!

pureeing avocado in my food mill!

I purchased a food mill recently to help make baby food… and it has quickly become my favorite kitchen gadget!

The key thing for me was finding a way to make baby food that was quiet.  My oldest son has hated the sound of a blender since the day he was born – and I did not enjoy having to wait until he was asleep to puree anything. 

Enter the food mill: silent and very efficient!  I have pureed avocado and sweet potato it in for my youngest, and it is a whiz at making mashed potatoes and applesauce for the rest of us!  There are apparently many more uses for it as well – sauces, soups, jams, butters… I can’t wait to try them all!

I had never seen a food mill before I started having children, and now I can’t live with out it.  How about you – what’s your current favorite kitchen gadget?  Or can you share any wonderful food mill recipes that I can try out?  I love finding new gadgets and trying new recipes, so thank you for sharing!

Leigh's signature

