Remember Ruthless?  Due to family vacations and a lot of hectic days, the grand unveiling of my “new” mud room/laundry room/pantry has been delayed.  I hope to be able to show Before and After pictures here next week.

It’s been harder than I thought it would be to be ruthless getting rid of things.  While I was able to let go of so many unneeded items, the attachment I have for things I’ve stored to use “someday” has surprised me.  Especially in a big box (ok, several boxes) marked “craft supplies.”  Empty milk cartons and soda bottles, egg cartons and toilet paper rolls, bottle caps and scraps of paper – all things I’ve saved since my son started to color. 

However, I realized that these bulky items I’ve saved (some for over a year now) are in ready supply in our house.  And I can recycle most of these items – or better yet, donate them to the Children’s Museum for their immediate crafting needs! 

Clearing out the spaces those boxes took up has been very freeing, and I realized that I didn’t need to save every egg carton that I emptied – another empty one will be coming soon if I’d like to use it in a craft project.

What are you holding on to that you can let go?  As I said in my first post about this – if you feel like you must keep any items for “someday,” pack them into a box and put them in the attic.  If you haven’t used them in a year, you can let them go for good!

Leigh's signature

